Mysteries Abound

It sometimes strikes me as curious that ‘mysteries’ are so prevalent in our reading matter, most particularly in our choice of novels. Whether we’re reading on Kindle, or on the printed page of a battered old paper back from the charity shop, mysteries are not only among my favourite reads but those of my friends and students too. So some years back, I came to the conclusion, that since I loved to read them, it might be an enjoyable exercise to try my hand at writing one. I created a female accidental detective – a retired astrologer, living in West Wales – and brought a young woman to her door whose father had disappeared. The novel grew to completion over a period of about a year, and I called it The Rules of Heaven, my first Grace de Savira mystery. I had loved writing it, and was confident that it was a page-turner, a good read. Then came the endless months of sending it off to publishers, during which time I wrote the second one, A Thorn in the Flesh. By the time the first one had been roundly rejected by every publisher I could think of sending it to, I was half way through the third book, From High Places. My disappointment about the first one meant I never sent the next one out, and none of them was ever published. I wrote the Dreamstealers trilogy for children, which did get published (YLolfa), then historical novels, also published (Llanerch Press), but the mysteries remained in the filing cabinet. Until recently when the first two Grace de Savira mysteries became available on Kindle, and to my great pleasure people have found them, and have actually bought them and read them. So I am now in the process of working on the unfinished book. The biggest mystery in the world of literature is how the choices are made to publish or not publish. And I have an even more exciting mystery up ahead, and this will come to light at the annual Penfro Book Festival. More of that again.

4 thoughts on “Mysteries Abound

Leave a Reply

